About the US-China Business Council


Who we are

Founded in 1973, the US-China Business Council (USCBC) is a private, nonpartisan, nonprofit association of more than 270 American companies that do business with China. Our membership includes some of the largest and most iconic American brands, in addition to professional services firms and small- and medium-sized enterprises. We are headquartered in Washington, DC, and maintain offices in Beijing and Shanghai.


Our mission

Our mission is to expand the US-China commercial relationship. We pursue results-oriented engagement with both governments to eliminate trade and investment barriers and develop a rules-based, predictable, and transparent commercial environment.


What we do

  • Advocacy. Historically, USCBC has served as one of the primary avenues for the US business community to engage with senior government officials on commercial policy. We regularly engage with the US executive and legislative branches, as well as with central- and provincial-level officials in China.
  • Analysis. Our analysts track all issues affecting US-China trade. We regularly share our latest insights with members, host more than 100 exclusive events annually, and facilitate multiple issue-specific working groups.
  • Education. Leveraging our policy and industry expertise, we educate policymakers and stakeholders on the tangible benefits of US-China trade and the impacts of government policies on American businesses and the US and Chinese economies.
  • Meetings and events. We provide in-depth programming for USCBC members to hear from our experts and others to better understand and navigate the unique complexities of doing business in China.


USCBC has offices in Washington, DC, Beijing, and Shanghai. USCBC staff provide advice to member companies on operational issues, best practices, investment strategies, and the regulatory environment. 

USCBC is governed by a board of directors composed of distinguished corporate leaders. The current chair is Marc N. Casper, Chairman, President, and CEO of Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.